Sunrise to Sunset

This song just came on my iPod, and it just gave me a total sense of peace. I heart Paul Wright very much. Yes I do!

There’s something very liberating to me today. Yesterday was my Sabbath day; I did absolutely NOTHING and it was wonderful. I caught up on sleep, and just relaxed. Usually the only time I recharge my batteries is when I’m sick, so it was a nice change of pace this time.

This morning, I woke up completely refreshed and just ready for the new day. “Thank You God. Thank You for beautiful mornings,” was one of the first things out of my mouth during prayer. I had an awesome prayer, great devotion, great Bible study (starting an in-depth study on the book of Nehemiah and intercession…heavy stuff is ahead I’m sure). Then, I decided to step out of the ordinary and run. I haven’t run in about a week and I wasn’t exactly looking forward to it, but I wanted to get it done.

From sunrise to sunset help me not forget all that You’ve done for me.
From sunset to sunrise help me keep my eyes upon Your glory.

26 minutes, 1.8 miles, and 264 calories later, I felt beaten, bruised, sore and yet oddly triumphant.  Just thinking about it now, I want to put on my gear and hit the road again.  Every step hurt me, every inhalation of cold air stabbed my lungs; every improper foot strike sent pain through my ankle and up to my knee. There were times I just wanted to stop completely and pat myself on the back for making the effort. Then, I would take a deep breath, and start the run again. I knew that I had to be patient with myself, patient with the process, and I would accomplish the task set before me.

Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us. (Hebrews 12:1)

I now dumbly realize this is what God wants from me. He wants me to be patient with myself, patient with the process, and I will accomplish the tasks He has set before me. I’ve really been struggling with my identity in Christ and my place in the Body. I feel like I’m striving to reach some objective, only to be crushed under the weight of it all. Then I read this AMAZING blog talking about the “Value in the Crushing” and it all made sense. I smiled and remembered that run today. I ran with patience during my run; I need to do the same with this Race.

So when you get tired troopers, just stay patient and keep your eyes on the glory of Christ. You’re gonna feel hurt, you’re gonna be sore, you’re gonna be bruised, but when all is said and done, you will be triumphant.

Happy Friday troopers.

One thought on “Sunrise to Sunset

Leave a comment